ANC 5C January 2019 Minutes


Advisory Neighborhood Commission 5C

Washington, DC

Minutes for January 16, 2019


Meeting Called to Order – 7:06 pm

Moment of Silence – Chairperson-elect Manning

Determination of Quorum and Introductions– Commissioner Looper

Chairperson-elect Jacque Manning – Present

Vice Chairperson-elect and Secretary-elect Gail Brevard – Present

Treasurer-elect-Jeremiah Montague Jr. – Present

Parliamentarian-elect Lauren Rogers

Commissioners:  Darlene Oliver – Present

Kirsten Williams– Present

Motion to Approve the Meeting Agenda-Motion was made by Commissioner Manning to accept the meeting agenda. Motion passed collectively by the Commission.

Election and Swearing-In of 5C Officers– Mr. Anthony Hood

Chairperson-Ms. Jacqueline Manning

Vice Chairperson – Ms. Gail Brevard

Treasurer – Mr. Jeremiah Montague Jr.

Secretary – Ms. Gail Brevard

Parliamentarian – Ms. Lauren Rogers

Security Fund Payment- Motion was made by Commissioner Oliver and seconded by Commissioner Looper that the Commission make a $25.00 payment to the Security Fund. Motion passed collectively by the Commission.

Reading of November and December 2018 Minutes- The reading was waived and a motion was made by Commissioner Brevard to accept the reports. Motion passed collectively by the Commission.

Reading of Treasury Report – Reading of the Treasury Report was waived due to the transfer of financial responsibility.

Reimbursements- Postponed until February 2019 due to the transfer of financial responsibility.


5C01: Commissioner Brevard presented a BZA application requesting an Area Variance for 3110 Monroe Street, NE.  Commissioner Brevard entered a motion for the Commission to support the project. The motion was lost with a 3-3-0 tie.

Community Announcements:  The floor was open to all who wanted to speak regarding their community activities and events. Representatives from the Offices of the Mayor and Councilmember McDuffie, and PEPCO spoke briefly.

Motion to adjourn was made by Commissioner Manning. Next meeting is set for March 20, 2019. NO FEBRUARY 2019 MEETING DUE TO THE WEATHER

 Adjournment – 8:47 pm